指导

如何在TikTok成为千禧一代?

已发表2 Apr 2021
撰写者Josh
成为千禧一代从来都不是一件容易的事。当我们是最年轻的一代时,无论是对于Boomers还是Gen-Xers而言,我们都是最喜欢的侮辱。懒惰的。奇怪的。不可靠如果您不了解,您可能会认为我们什么也没做,只是四处走走,要求奖杯或对此做出解释。 “为什么房子的价格是我愿意每年付给您的价格的75倍?就像千禧一代问愚蠢的问题一样。”
从X世代到千禧一代
就像我们之前遭受过残酷的Gen-Xers一样,我们希望下一代的诞生将减轻一些压力。但事实并非如此。事实证明,那些狡猾的百年纪念人士(或Gen-Zers,如果您愿意的话)涌现出来的不仅仅是准备加入我们的嘲弄中。他们比我们更先进,更精通数字,他们很快就嘲笑我们的发型,衣服以及无法完全掌握几分钟前才发布的技术。
不幸的均衡器
然后是COVID-19。从几代人的角度来看,大流行是一个很好的均衡器。我们不仅遭受了同样的后果,而且无所事事地被困在室内导致了我们利益的大量流血。我们中的一些人开始沉迷于针织等老年人的爱好,而其他人(例如我)已经决定看看孩子们的爱好。
欢迎来到没有注意力的跨度土地
尽管我怀疑其中任何一个USB妖精Gen-Zers都从他们的屏幕上抬起头来足以注意到我的到来,但我个人对跨代娱乐活动的尝试是以我加入TikTok的形式出现的。
如果您不知道,这个闪电般的视频共享平台绝对是专为瞬间百年关注度而设计的。不过,我很快发现对此有很多爱。而且,我很快发现,强大的TikTok算法对我来说就像在隔代邻居中一样,在创造娱乐领域方面同样出色。
您会发现,TikTok不仅具有由多色头发的补间演奏而来的奇怪的嘴唇同步视频,还具有更多的功能。还提供喜剧素描,DIY和手工艺视频,甚至还有可能被您称为彻头彻尾的“信息性”剪辑。而且由于简单的“喜欢”或“不喜欢”系统(由“心脏”提供动力),您很快就可以拨打完全适合您从应用程序中获得的供稿。
例如,您可能不会对“投掷挑战”感到失望,该游戏中,青少年们围成一圈站着,向空中抛掷物体,消除了撞到的任何人。但是,您可能对像Goblincore这样的面向千禧一代的怪异事物感兴趣。这是对草,真菌,头骨,挖空的树木和污垢的欣赏和/或收集。因此,如果您最常使用的LOTR字符是Gollum,那么#Goblincore就是您所需要的。
百年纪念人士喜欢“命中或小姐挑战”的地方,他们通过尖叫“命中或小姐!”来尝试在公共场合互相寻找对方。在拥挤的地方,您是29岁的男朋友,可能不会欣赏您的关注。相反,您可以查找鸡尾酒食谱,小吃创意,甚至整个晚餐概念。实际上,TikTok的食品含量备受赞誉,而厨师已经发展成为该平台的一些顶级创造者。
您能从TikTok学会变得古怪而酷吗?
不确定如果您遵循“狐狸眉毛挑战赛”(也就是削掉一半的眉毛再将其重新拉上去)的话,老板是否会给您带来如此大的晋升?您为什么不去看看TikTok成为家的数百位美容和时尚影响者呢?从新发型到化妆趋势再到新的服装创意,有很多方法可以使用该平台来增强自己的能力(而不是使自己的面孔成为办公室的笑话)。
您会发现,无论您是在寻找适合自己的“怪异”品牌的产品,不断发展的口味,还是想要表现出最佳状态的愿望,TikTok上都有很多东西非常适合我们的千禧一代口味。就个人而言,我是手工艺标签的忠实拥护者,这些标签为我提供了许多使我的办公室和客厅空间更富于我自己的想法。不过,这并不意味着我不会一次又一次地关注热门话题。毕竟,我们的千禧一代从来都不是一个可以挑战的人(无论多么愚蠢)。
因此,如果您年满25岁,却发现自己在这些艰难的时刻变得非常“好奇”,请不要害怕!有很多内容可供大家欣赏。谁知道?您可能会发现,您的补间侄女比律师的哥哥有更多共同点。那会不会引起有趣的家庭谈话?
Josh from Exolyt
Josh from Exolyt
本文由Josh撰写,他以Senior Social Media Consultant的身份在Exolyt工作。 Josh帮助有影响力的人,营销人员和内容创建者提高参与度,并从他们的账户中获得最大收益。

Guide

How to be a Millennial on TikTok?

Published2 Apr 2021
Written byJosh
Being a Millennial has never been easy. When we were the youngest generation, we were the go-to insult for Boomers and Gen-Xers alike. Lazy. Weird. Undependable. If you didn't know better, you'd think we did nothing but walk around demanding a trophy for this, or an explanation for that. “Why does a house cost 75X what I'm willing to pay you a year? It's just so like you Millennials to ask dumb questions."
From Gen-Xers to Millennials
Like the previously-maligned Gen-Xers before us, we hoped that the birth of the next generation would take some of the pressure off. But it didn’t. As it turns out, those snarky Centennials (or Gen-Zers, if you prefer) emerged more than ready to join in our mockery. More progressive and digitally-savvy than us, they were quick to scorn our haircuts, clothing, and inability to fully-grasp technology that had only been released minutes before.
Unfortunate equalizer
Then came COVID-19. From a generational aspect, the pandemic has been a great equalizer. Not only are we all suffering the same consequences, but being stuck indoors with nothing to do has caused a significant amount of bleed-over in our interests. Some of us have taken up elderly hobbies like knitting, while others, like me, have decided to see what the kiddies are into.
Welcome to No Attention Span Land
And though I doubt any of those USB-goblin Gen-Zers looked up from their screens long enough to notice my arrival, my own personal foray into inter-generational entertainment came in the form of my joining TikTok.
If you don't know, this lightning-quick video-sharing platform is definitely designed for the split-second Centennial attention span. Still, I quickly found there was a lot to love about it. Moreover, I soon discovered that the powerful TikTok algorithm was just as good at carving out an entertainment niche for me as it was for my generational next-door neighbors.
You see, there is more to TikTok than just weird lip-syncing videos performed by tweens with multi-colored hair. There are also comedy sketches, DIY and craft videos, and even clips you might call downright "informative." And thanks to the simple "like" or "don't like" system (lovingly powered by "hearts"), it doesn't take long for you to dial in a feed that perfectly suits what you want from the app.
For instance, you might not be down with the “Throw it Challenge,” a game in which teens stand in a circle and toss objects in the air, eliminating whoever it hits. However, you might be interested in more Millennial-oriented weirdness, such as Goblincore. This is the appreciation for and/or collection of grasses, fungi, skulls, hollowed-out trees, and dirt. So if the LOTR character you most identify with is Gollum, #Goblincore is just what you're looking for.
And where Centennials love the "Hit or Miss Challenge," where they attempt to seek each other out in public by screaming "Hit or Miss!" in crowded places, you're 29-year-boyfriend might not appreciate the attention. Instead, you can seek out cocktail recipes, snack ideas, and even entire dinner concepts. In fact, TikTok is highly-regarded for its food content, and chefs have evolved into some of the platform’s top creators.
Can you learn to be Weird But Cool from TikTok?
Not sure if your boss is going to give you that big promotion if you follow the "Fox Eyebrow Challenge," otherwise known as shaving half your eyebrows off and then drawing them back on? Why don't you instead check out the hundreds of beauty and fashion influencers who have made TikTok their home? From new hairstyles to makeup trends to new outfit ideas, there's plenty of ways to use the platform to enhance yourself (not turn your face into the office joke).
You see, whether you're looking for something that fits your particular brand of "weird," your ever-evolving palate, or your desire to look your best – there's plenty on stuff on TikTok that's perfectly suited to our Millennial tastes. Personally, I'm a huge fan of the arts and crafts hashtags, which have given me tons of ideas for making my office and living room spaces more my own. Still, that doesn't mean I don't dip into the trending hashtags now and again. After all, we Millennials have never been the type to back down from a challenge (no matter how dumb).
So if you’re over 25, but find yourself becoming very “Tok-Curious” in these trying times, don’t be afraid! There’s plenty of content for everyone to enjoy. Who knows? You might find out you have more in common with your tween niece than your lawyer older brother. Wouldn't that make for interesting family conversation?
Josh from Exolyt
Josh from Exolyt
This article is written by Josh, who works at Exolyt as a Senior Social Media Consultant. Josh helps influencers, marketers and content creators to improve their engagement and take the most out of their accounts.